Step 3 - Configuring the Plagiarism Plugin in Moodle

Previously, the Plagiarism Plugin was bundled along with Moodle Direct V2. Now, the plagiarism plugin is installed and configured separately.

  1. Log into Moodle as the Moodle administrator.
  2. After you've installed the Plagiarism Plugin, navigate to Turnitin plagiarism plugin in the Site Administration | Plugins | Plagiarism menu.

  3. You'll see a long list of settings you can change. Some of these are compulsory, and others you can either change or use the default we recommend.
  4. Compulsory settings
    1. Plugin visibility - found under the 'Turnitin Plagiarism Plugin Configuration' heading, this option lets you choose where Turnitin similarity reports will be available. You can choose to show them for all assignments, for forums, for quizzes, for workshops, or not at all.

    2.  Turnitin Account ID - This is your Turnitin Account ID. You'll find it in your initial account creation emails from Turnitin or you can also log in to Turnitin.com (or TurnitinUK.com) and see it on the Administrator Homepage.
    3. Turnitin Shared Key - In Turnitin this is called the Shared Key. You create this when you configure your account in Turnitin.
    4. Turnitin API URL - Use the drop-down to select either https://api.turnitin.com or https://api.turnitinuk.com depending on your location.
  5. (Optional) Enter a disclaimer/agreement in the text box. Students will have to check a box agreeing to this statement before submitting a paper. However, if you leave the box completely blank, then there won't be any agreement confirmation required during submission.

  6. (Optional) The Student Data Privacy Setting will ensure that student's data is not transmitted to Turnitin via the API if this is a requirement at you institution. If the option is enabled, student email addresses will be transformed into a pseudo equivalent for Turnitin API calls. This option cannot be changed if any Moodle user data has already been synched with Turnitin. The default is No.

    This process is irreversible and cannot be changed once students have started to enroll and submit to the class.

  7. Click on the Save Changes button at the bottom of the screen to save all the entered information.

Thank you! Your feedback will help us to improve this guide.

Was this page helpful?


We're sorry to hear that

If you have the time, we'd love to know how we could improve it.

Need to contact a human?

Get in touch