What if my V1 and V2 plugin settings differ?
What if the account ID and secret key in my V1 and V2 plugin settings differ?
For a migration to complete successfully, the account ID and secret key in your V1 and V2 plugin settings must match exactly.
Why can't V1 assignments be migrated in bulk?
Each V1 assignment must be assessed individually before being migrated to V2. Some V1 assignments may still be accepting submissions, removing the option of bulk migration. Additionally, there may be instructors still grading V1 assignments.
What if a migration fails?
Not to worry! The assignment will stay as or revert back to a V1 assignment and the instructor will be directed to their V1 assignment inbox. Upon accessing the V1 assignment for a second time, the assignment will either migrate automatically or give the instructor the option to migrate, depending on your migration settings.
Who will receive a prompt to migrate?
If you've selected prompt instructor at launch in the Moodle Migration Tool, the prompt will be available to anyone with a grading right in Moodle, and therefore, classed as an instructor with Turnitin.
When is it safe to remove the V1 plugin from my Moodle environment?
It is safe to remove the V1 plugin after completing the following steps:
- Ensure all V1 assignments have migrated to V2.
If you remove the V1 plugin before the intended migration of any V1 assignments, you will lose access to these assignments. You must migrate all V1 assignments before removing the V1 plugin if you would like to continue accessing them.
- To ensure your assignment lists include V2 only, delete all migrated V1 assignments using the Moodle Migration Tool.
Cleaning up your assignment lists removes any assignments that will no longer be accessible once the V1 plugin is removed from your Moodle environment.
Can I create V1 assignments if my institution is in the process of migrating to V2?
We recommend only creating V2 assignments at this stage. If you have the automatic at launch option configured, a V1 assignment will be migrated almost immediately after creation, which is likely to cause confusion among your instructors. Creating a v2 assignment will alleviate this confusion.
How does migration affect assignments in Turnitin?
By migrating a V1 assignment to V2, the same assignment in Turnitin will remain unaffected, even after the V1 assignment is deleted from Moodle. Additionally, the assignment ID will remain the same after its migration to V2.
Was this page helpful?
We're sorry to hear that
If you have the time, we'd love to know how we could improve it.