Anonymous marking explained

With anonymous marking, your student's name, and any other identifiable information is masked from you, their instructor. If at any point during marking you identify a problem with a submission, you have the ability to reveal the student's name from the Assignment Inbox. When you reveal a student's name an audit trail will be created. You will be required to enter a reason for unveiling a student's name in order for any issues to be properly investigated.

This setting is permanent. If you disable anonymous marking for a student, you will be unable to reactivate it for that student during that assignment.

For assignments with Anonymous Marking enabled, the post date determines when grades are posted to the Blackboard Grade Center and when the author names are made available. Otherwise, in Blackboard, the post date relates to the availability of GradeMark papers only and has no bearing on when grades are posted to the Blackboard Grade Center.

Thank you! Your feedback will help us to improve this guide.

Was this page helpful?


We're sorry to hear that

If you have the time, we'd love to know how we could improve it.

Need to contact a human?

Get in touch